Cannes 2018: The Complete List of Winners
Shoplifters  Production still - Winner of the Palme d'or 2018

Shoplifters Production still - Winner of the Palme d'or 2018


The 71st edition of Festival de Cannes announced the winners of the event's most prestigious prizes: the Palme d’Or at the closing ceremony held on the 20th of May. 

This year's Feature Film jury comprised of Cate Blanchett as jury president, supported by Kristen Stewart, Denis Villeneuve, Lea Seydoux, and Ava DuVernay.

21 films competed for the Palme d’Or, which was won by Shoplifters by Japanese director Hirokazu Kore-eda.

Under the presidency of Benicio Del Toro (Puerto Rican-American actor), the Jury for the Un Certain Regard section was comprised of Annemarie Jacir (Palestinian director and writer), Kantemir Balagov (Russian director), Virginie Ledoyen (French actress) and Julie Huntsinger (American executive director, Telluride Film Festival).

Un Certain Regard 2018 presented 18 films in competition. Six of them were first films. 

Here is the full list of winners:

In competition Winners

Palme d’Or: Shoplifters, Hirokazu Kore-eda

Grand Prix: BlacKkKlansman, Spike Lee

Jury Prize: Capernaum, Nadine Labaki

Special Palme d’Or: The Image Book, Jean-Luc Godard

Best Actress: Samal Yeslyamova, Akya

Best Actor: Marcello Fonte, Dogman

Best Director: Pawel Pawlikowski, Cold War

Best Screenplay: Alice Rohrwacher, Happy as Lazzaro,  & Nader Saeivar, Three Faces 

Camera d’Or: Girl, Lukas Dhont

Short Film Palme d’Or: All These Creatures, Charles Williams

Queer Palm (Feature): Girl, Lukas Dhont

Queer Palm (Short): The Orphan, Carolina Markowicz


Un Certain Regard Winners

Un Certain Regard: Border, Ali Abbasi

Best performance: Victor Polster, Girl 

Best director: Sergei Loznitsa, Donbass

Jury special prize: João Salaviza and Renée Nader Messora, Chuva é Cantoria Na Aldeia Dos Mortos  (The Dead and the Others)


Cinéfondation Winners

First Prize: Paul Est Là (Paul Is Here), Valentina Maurel - The Institut National Supérieur des Arts du Spectacle (INSAS), Belgium

Second Prize: Heyvan (Animal), Bahram Ark and Bahman Ark - Iranian National School of Cinema, Iran

Third Prize Deux Égarés Sont Morts (Two Youths Died), Tommaso Usberti - La Fémis, France

Camera d'or Winner: Girl, Lukas Dhont

The 71st Festival de Cannes edition was held from the 8th-20th of May.

To access more highlights and receive the transcripts of Masterclass interviews hosted at the event featuring: Christopher Nolan, Gary Oldman, Ryan Coogler, and John Travolta, subscribe to I AM FILM below:



Follow I AM FILM on Instagram (iamfilmofficial) #IAMFILM #MastersOfFilm and Join our list to receive more news and views by the Masters of Film.